Tailor your Oracle account

I have always wished for a command “valert” that would open the alert.log file of my database.
I often get tired keying in $ORACLE_BASE/admin/ORCL/bdump and then vi alert.log. But then i tailored my oracle os account using aliases and in a flick ‘am there.

I have the below in my .profile (for unix) and .bash_profile(for linux)

alias bdump=’cd /u01/app/oracle/admin/ORCL/bdump/’
alias talert=’tail -f $ORACLE_BASE/admin/ORCL/bdump/alert_$ORACLE_SID.log’
alias tns=’cd $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin’
alias udump=’cd /u01/app/oracle/admin/SHCL1/bdump/’
alias valert=’view $ORACLE_BASE/admin/SHCL1/bdump/alert_$ORACLE_SID.log’
alias home=’cd $ORACLE_HOME’

Now, all i have to do is just ‘valert’ to view my alert.log and ‘home’ to $ORACLE_HOME

One thought on “Tailor your Oracle account

  1. Pingback: Index « My confrontations with oracle

Leave a Reply

